#5Papers – Introduction

books-1082942_960_720A new year brings new challenges, and while some try to get to the gym more, others try to form better reading habits. My Facebook feed has been busy with this book-reading challenge in particular. I may be a month behind, but I’ve decided to commit to an academically-minded challenge.

I’ll be doing #5Papers — something I just learned about here. It’s simple: read 5 academic papers a week and write a short summary for each. The idea is to read one each work day, but with my schedule I’ll probably chose a couple days to read 2-3.

My intention is to post each Monday to keep myself accountable. I don’t have a set format for the summary, since I plan to read a variety of paper styles (reviews, methodology comparisons, specimen descriptions). I have a term paper for my GIS class due soon, so things will be biogeography-heavy for a while!

Who’s with me?

2 comments

  1. I’m attempting #365papers. Fortunately this is a leap year, so I have a free day? It’s not going so well…

    Like

    1. You can do it!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

